top of page

Board & Leadership

"Power of the Group"


The CARA community is based on the concept of "Power of the Group". It is the entire CARA community that comes together to make our work possible and impactful.


As a 501c3 not-for-profit organization, CARA is led and governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, as well as a variety of committees and member leadership groups.

Get involved by checking out our volunteer page.

Board of Directors
Erika Edmonson
Darren DeMatoff
Vice President
Tony Fiore
Jeff Zidell
Kerl Lajeune
Immediate Past 
Headshot_Jill Ciminillo 01.jpeg
Jill Ciminillo
Board Member
Headshot_Brett Geschke 01_edited.jpg
Brett Geschke
Board Member
Ann Marie Phaneuf
Board Member
Brace Clement
Board Member
Alexandrea Yeung
Board Member
Headshot_Dana Anderson_edited.jpg
Dana Anderson
Board Member
Headshot_Nicholas Nicholson_edited.jpg
Nicholas Nicholson
Board Member
Headshot_Jennifer Courtney_edited.jpg
Jennifer Courtney
Board Member
Capture (1).jpg
Steven Levine
Board Member
Jennifer Foil
Board Member


Executive Committee

  • Chair: Erika Edmonson (President)

  • Staff Lead: Tim Bradley

  • Additional Members: Darren DeMatoff (Vice President), Tony Fiore (Treasurer), Brett Geschke (At-Large), Kerl LaJeune (Past-President), Alexandrea Yeung (At-Large), Jeff Zidell (Secretary)

  • Charge: The Executive Committee includes the Board of Directors President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Immediate Out-going President, and at most two (2) other Directors appointed by the President. Subject to such limitations as may be imposed by the Board of Directors, these Bylaws and applicable law, the Executive Committee may exercise all of the authority of the Board of Directors at such time as the Board of Directors shall not be in session.

Nominating Committee

  • Chair: Jeff Zidell

  • Additional Members: Dan Daley (member), Jill Ciminillo (BOD), Brace Clement (BOD), Jim Murphy (member)

  • Charge: The Nominating Committee prepares and maintains a slate of qualified candidates for all open directorships and the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The members of the Nominating Committee shall be appointed by the Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee shall consist of five (5) persons as follows: A Committee Chair, who shall be an officer who is not a candidate for any office; two (2) directors who are not candidates for any office; two (2) members of the corporation who are not officers or directors nor candidates for any office.

Outreach and Inclusion (O&I) Committee

  • Co-Chairs: Jill Ciminillo and Jennifer Foil

  • Staff Lead/s: Dominique Sabbs

  • Additional Members: Dana Anderson, Jen Courtney, Kerl LaJeune, Erika Edmonson, Darren DeMatoff, George Mejia, Elizabeth Chapin-Palder

  • Charge: Engage with diverse communities throughout the Chicagoland area, assisting in efforts to realize CARA’s mission with a commitment to equity, inclusiveness, and elevating diverse voices. As well, to realize CARA’s mission to provide equitable access to resources and opportunities in organized running throughout Chicagoland.

Development Committee

  • Chair: Darren DeMatoff

  • Staff Lead: Evan DeBock

  • Additional Members: Tony Fiore, Ann Marie Phaneuf

  • Charge: Provides a centralized resource for donor giving opportunities. We create and ensure the success of fundraising initiatives advancing CARA’s nonprofit mission.

Racing Committee

  • Chair: Erika Edmonson

  • Staff Leads: Tim Bradley and James Diamond

  • Additional Members: Erica Agran, Nick Bensen, Brett Geschke, Angelica Guerrero, Steven Levine, Scott Mangum, Doug Pearson, Brian Sweney, Chris Willis

  • Charge: The Racing Committee oversees the selection of races, scoring, and awards for the Chicago Racing Circuit by CARA.

bottom of page