• CARAruns

CARA Awards Party Recap: Runners Of The Year And Age Graded

Held annually, the CARA Awards Party celebrates the achievements of our Chicagoland running community and recognizes CARA Runners’ Choice Circuit top performers and CARA Hall of Fame inductees. This year, CARA honored several runners in a number of distinguished categories. To highlight these accomplished individuals and clubs, we will be sharing a series of features.

We would like to acknowledge our outstanding Runner of the Year award recipients! Runner of the Year awards are chosen by the CARA Race committee and CARA Board of Directors in the following categories for both males and females: Overall, Masters (40+), Veteran (50+), Senior (60+), and Super-Senior (70+).

Overall Male Runner of the Year was awarded to Steffen Uhrich. Winning his second consecutive Overall Male Runner of the Year title, Steffen has been a top competitor on the Circuit, representing Fleet Feet Racing. The champion of the Alpine Races Half Marathon and the Lake Bluff Pumpkin Chase 5k, Steffen also received first place age division honors at the BTN 10k, Cosley Zoo Run for the Animals 10k, Ricky Byrdsong Race Against Hate 5k, and the Itasca Oktoberfast 5k.

Overall Female Runner of the Year was awarded to Erika Edmonson. A member of the CARA board and CARA Race Committee, Erika is a frequent age group winner and had the top female finish at the 2019 Quarryman Challenge 10 Mile, the Randy Walker Memorial 5k, and the Cosley Zoo Run for the Animals 10k. Erika also won her age group an astounding eight times, including at the Good Life Race 5k, the Wintrust Lakefront 10 Miler, the Ricky Byrdsong Race Against Hate, the Itasca Oktoberfast 5k, and the Alpine Races Half Marathon.

Top 10 Male Finishers

1. Steffen Uhrich 2. Thomas Curran

3. Chris Robertson 4. Chris Wolf

5. Scott Mangum 6. Matthew Jeromin

7. Joel Bendsten 8. Frank Cira

9. Damian Bednorz 10. Andrew Mullen

Top 10 Female Finishers

1. Erika Edmonson 2. Jane Bareikis

3. Angelica Guerrero 4. Columba Montes

5. Daniela Munoz 6. Grace Wasielewski

7. Marie Fourman 8. Evance Stalley

9. Lisa Mullen 10. Geri Bensen

Female Masters Runner of the Year was awarded to Columba Montes. Columba won her age group at more than half her Circuit races, including the Ravenswood 5k, Soldier Field 10, Ricky Byrdsong Race Against Hate 5k, and Elmhurst Running Club 4 On The 4th. Chris Wolf was awarded the Male Masters Runner of the Year. Chris took home first place in his age division at the Quarryman Challenge 10 Mile, the Randy Walker 5k, and the BTN 10k.

Female Veteran Runner of the Year Award was received by Angelica Guerrero. Angelica impressively won her age division at ten of the eleven Circuit races she competed in. Also a fierce competitor, Tony Bleull was awarded the Male Veteran Runner of the Year title. Running eight total Circuit races, Tony won his age group seven times this season.

Senior Runner of the Year Awards were given to Grace Wasielewski and Brian Sweney. Grace held a stellar Circuit record this year, winning her age division in all nine Circuit races in which she competed. Brian also proved to be a champion, winning his age division at several races this season, including the Good Life Race 5k, Wintrust Lakefront 10 Miler, Cosley Zoo Run for the Animals 10k, and the Lake Bluff Pumpkin Chase 5k.

Female Super-Senior Runner of the Year Award was given to Nancy Rollins. Nancy took home first place in her age group in eight of her nine Circuit races, as well accomplished a second-place age group showing at the Chicago Marathon. Male Super-Senior Runner of the Year Award was given to Bob Richards. A seasoned racer, Bob took first in his age group in seven of his Circuit races this season.

In the Age Graded category, which recognizes the top 10 overall circuit runners, Nancy Rollins also led the pack. Nancy was followed by Angelica Guerrero and Grace Wasielewski to round out the top three places.

  1. Nancy Rollins

  2. Angelica Gurrero

  3. Grace Wasielewski

  4. Tony Bleull

  5. Chris Wolf

  6. Steffen Uhrich

  7. Jane Bareikis

  8. Brian Sweney

  9. Chris Robertson

  10. Dan Kremske

To see the full list of Age Graded, Age Group, Participation, and Circuit awards, click HERE. Congratulations to all competitors!

Next up in this series, we will be highlighting the achievements of our Age Group and Clydesdale and Athena winners.

2 views0 comments

The Chicago Area Runners Association, CARA, is a non-profit organization committed to serving and advocating for the local running community. We are Chicagoland’s running club, providing accessible opportunities for all runners to train, race, learn, be social and volunteer. 

CARA, with over 10,000 members, is the nation’s third-largest running club, serving as the voice of local runners, as well as providing over 1,300 dates of programming and events per year.


Proud member of the Road Runners Club of America.

© 2020 Chicago Area Runners Association. Registered 501(c)(3). EIN: 36-3054942​