top of page
  • Writer's pictureCARAruns

41 Chicago Area Runners Qualify For Olympic Marathon Trials

An incredible 21 local Chicago area runners have qualified for the USA Olympic Marathon Trials to be held in Atlanta, GA. on February 29. The Chicago area will also be represented by an additional 20 runners who have local ties. The 2020 Marathon Trials are hosted by the Atlanta Track Club.

The top three male and female finishers at the USA Olympic Marathon Trials will represent the United States at the 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo. To be eligible men must have run a marathon at or under 2:19 since September 1, 2017 or a Half-Marathon at or under 1:04 since September 1, 2018. Women must have run a marathon at or under 2:45 or a Half-Marathon at or under 1:13 during the same time period.

Led by Chris Zablocki, Dan Kremske, and Colin Mickow, there are nine men who reside in the Chicago area who have qualified. Both Zablocki and Kremske represent the Second City Track Club. Kremske and Mickow are both University of Illinois alums.

Name, Best, Represents, Current Residence

  • Chris Zablocki, 2:13:45, Second City Track Club, Chicago

  • Dan Kremske, 2:14:53, Second City Track Club, Chicago

  • Colin Mickow, 2:14:55, N/A, Oswego

  • Alan Peterson, 2:14:56, Fleet Feet Chicago, Chicago

  • Kevin Havel, 2:15:37, Second City Track Club, Chicago

  • Brandon Mull, 2:17:17, Fleet Feet Racing, Chicago

  • Jackson Neff, 2:17:21, Second City Track Club, Chicago,

  • Matt Blume, 2:18:54, Fleet Feet Chicago, Chicago

  • Brett Lustgarten, 2:19:19, Illinois Elite, Chicago

Local women boast 12 qualifiers, including three women with personal bests under 2:40. Alyssa Schneider and Kristen Heckert represent Second City Track Club, while Jane Bareikis races for Fleet Feet Chicago. Both Scheider and Heckert achieved their bests at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon. Both also impressively balance their time as local math teachers. Bareikis won the 2018 CARA Runners' Choice Circuit, earning her CARA Runner of the Year honors that year.

Name, Best, Represents, Current Residence

  • Alyssa Schneider, 2:35:41, Second City Track Club, Barlett

  • Jane Bareikis, 2:37:32, Fleet Feet Chicago, Crestwood,

  • Kristen Heckert, 2:38:54, Second City Track Club, Bolingbrook

  • Kristina Lynn Aubert, 2:40:58, DW Running, Chicago

  • Lauren Kersjes, 2:41:44, Second City Track Club, Chicago,

  • Courtney Peterson, 2:42:28, Fleet Feet Chicago, Chicago

  • Kate Deprosperis, 2:43:11, Jenny Spangler / Rabbit, Western Springs

  • Marisa Hird, 2:43:33, Naperville Running Co., Naperville

  • Sarah David, 2:44:11, DW Running, Chicago

  • Julia Buford, 2:44:24, Fleet Feet Chicago, Chicago

  • Kristin Johnson, 2:44:27, Illinois Elite, Chicago

  • Amanda Macuiba, 2:44:37, Jenny Spangler Racing, Chicago

The Chicago area will also be represented by an additional 15 runners who grew up in the Chicago area. That group is led by Naperville (Nequa Valley HS) product Chris Derrick, and Roselle, IL native Lindsay Flanagan. Derrick is a multi-time USA Champion, while Flanagan has a ninth-place Boston Marathon finish to her resume.

Name, PR, Gender, Represents, Hometown

  • Chris Derrick, 2:12:50, Nike Bowerman TC, Naperville

  • Tyler Jermann, 2:13:29, Minnesota Distance Elite, Naperville

  • Patrick Rizzo, 2:13:42, N/A, Schaumburg

  • Johnny Crain, 2:15:46, ON Zap Fitness, Dunlap

  • Travis Morrison, 2:16:48, N/A, Hoffman Estates

  • Dan Harper, 2:17:30, Boston Athletic Association, Naperville

  • Christopher May, 2:18:34, N/A, Elmhurst

  • Oscar Medina, 2:18:40, Second City Track Club, Chicago

  • Patrick Geoghegan, 2:18:40, N/A, Oak Park

  • Lindsay Flanagan, 2:28:08, N/A, Roselle

  • Rachel Hyland, 2:37:22, Boston Athletic Association, Lake Bluff

  • Bryanne Lauck, 2:41:20, Sonoran Distance Project, Carol Stream

  • Erin Heenan, 2:41:15, N/A, Chicago

  • Shari Eberhard, 2:43:13, Sonoran Distance Project, Elmhurst

  • Grace Bowen, 2:44:49, Dashing Whippets, Kenilworth

Five more qualifiers have local ties to area colleges and universities. These, along with Brandon Mull (Wheaton College), Patrick Rizzo (North Central College), Johnny Crain (North Central College), Will Cross (Elmhurst College), and Kristen Heckert (UIC) give area colleges a total of 10 Olympic Trials representatives.

Name, PR, Gender, Represents, Local College Connection

  • Danny Docherty, 2:15:55, Minnesota Distance Elite, Loyola

  • Ryan Root, 2:16:45, Rabbit, North Central

  • Will Cross, 2:17:33, N/A, Elmhurst College

  • Julia Sizek, 2:41:58, Strawberry Canyon TC, U of Chicago

  • Rachel Booth, 2:37:59, N/A, Northwestern

The Marathon Trials will be broadcast live on NBC at 11:00 a.m. CT. Full details are online HERE.

95 views0 comments
bottom of page